Who is standing and who has been elected unopposed

Gavin Traylor, an architect and lecturer in construction, has been elected unopposed as president of the Royal Society of Architects in Wales (RSAW).

The lack of a contest in the principality contrasts sharply with Scotland, where Christina Gaiger fought off two challengers to be named the youngest president of RIAS in its history this week, and nationally where five hopefuls are standing for RIBA president.

Gavin Traylor

Gavin Traylor

Traylor teaches at the University of Wales Trinity Saint David (UWTSD). He previously led Cardiff council’s multi-disciplinary in-house design and construction management team.

He said his focus would be ”the future of architects in a sustainable Wales” and his campaign statement said:

  • Vision: architects have the ability to think about and plan the future with imagination and wisdom. In these uncertain times it is important that we encourage vision and ambition.
  • Community: the social value of our role within the public community and our innovative role in the wider construction community.
  • Education: the value that architects bring to projects, the skills we instil to future architects of Wales and greater cohesion between academia and professional practice.
  • Voice: with policy of Westminster and Cardiff Bay impacting on our profession, it is essential that architects in Wales have a voice.

Meanwhile the candidates standing for seats on RIBA’s council have also been annnounced.

They are listed below. There will be virtual hustings on July 7 and 9, with voting running from July 14-August 4.

>> Also read: Record fifth RIBA presidential hopeful steps forward

>> Also read: What is the point of the RIBA president?


RIBA council candidates

National council seats

10 candidates contesting two seats (three-year term from September 1):

Bruce Buckland

Simone de Gale

Jennifer Dixon

Tom Foggin

Joe Giddings

Neil Lister

Anthony Lloyd

Timothy Onyenobi

Robin Snell

Piers Taylor


Regional council seats

RIBA London

21 candidates for six seats:

David Adjei

Sarah Akigbogun

Dagmar Binsted

Christopher Bradley

Angela Dapper

Alasdair Ben Dixon

Craig Douglas

Annette Amanda Oyekunle Fisher

Lanre Gbolade

Pedro Gil

Christopher Hampson

Harriet Harris

Seb Laan Lomas

Femi Oresanya

Alfonso Padro

Izis Salvador Pinto

Cheryl Pilliner-Reeves

Vinesh Pomal

Jack Pringle

Anna Webster

Sui-Te Wu


RIBA South East

Three candidates for two seats:

Duncan Baker-Brown

Julia McLoughlin

Danka Stefan


RIBA South West

Graham Devine is elected unopposed.


RIBA Wessex

Yuli Cadney-Toh elected unopposed.



Roger Shrimplin elected unopposed.


RIBA West Midlands

Philip Twiss elected unopposed.


RIAS South

No candidates.


International council seats

Europe (excluding UK)

Tim Clark elected unopposed.



Two candidates for one seat:

Catherine Davis

Thierry Paret


Asia and Australasia

Three candidates for one seat:

Nela de Zoysa

Ken Wai

Roger Tsan-Sum Wu


Middle East & Africa

Alice Asafu-Adjaye elected unopposed

How do I vote in the 2020 RIBA elections? Find full details of presidential and council candidates including their statements and voting papers here.