See the full list of winners of Building Design’s Architect of the Year Awards

HOLDING_AYAs_Live broadcast index pic_AWARDS_STILL

Mica Architects has been crowned Architect of the Year at Building Design’s prestigious annual awards.

The practice was honoured with the Gold Award for overall winner at the ceremony which was streamed on Building Design’s website today and watched live by hundreds of architects, clients and their collaborators.

As well as being named Architect of the Year, Mica – the practice born out of Rick Mather Architects in 2017 following Mather’s death – also scooped the award for Refurbishment Architect of the Year.

MICA Architects_Fairfileld Halls_Croydon_©Hufton+Crow_015

Source: Hufton & Crow

Mica Architects’ refurbishment of Fairfield Halls in Croydon

The judges – who underlined the importance of restoring and repurposing existing buildings at a time of climate crisis – praised Mica’s entry for its high standard and variety of work. This included converting London’s famous Centre Point tower into flats, restoring Croydon’s 1962 Fairfield Halls to its former glory and rescuing crumbling 12th-century Hay Castle.

Rick Mather Architects - example concept image of Hay Castle

Source: Mica Architects

Concept image of Hay Castle

The practice also led the most significant development at Lincoln’s Inn’s grade I-listed Great Hall and Library for 150 years, ranging from heritage-led conservation and restoration to bold contemporary additions to the oldest working library in London.

Other big winners at this year’s AYAs include Office S&M which won the prestigious YAYA crown, RCKa, which scooped the inaugural Social Impact Award, and Levitt Bernstein’s Julia Park who was named Architect Leader for her tireless campaigning against the iniquities of permitted development (PD) rights.

The full list of AYA 2020 winners:

Architect of the Year: Gold Award: Mica Architects

Sustainability Architect: HTA

Refurbishment Architect: Mica Architects

Public Building Architect: Dow Jones (Highly commended: Bell Phillips)

Housing Architect: Alison Brooks Architects

Office Architect: Bennetts Associates

Individual House Architect: McGonigle McGrath (Highly commended: Alison Brooks Architects)

Infrastructure Architect: Arup Architecture

Public Realm Architect: Nex

Education Architect (nursery to 6th form): Penoyre & Prasad (Highly commended: Architype)

Education Architect (higher): Grimshaw (Highly commended: Cottrell & Vermeulen)

Retail & Leisure Architect: Faulkner Browns

Interior Architect: Sheppard Robson

Small Project Architect: Pad Studio

Young Architect of the Year (YAYA): Office S&M

Best Architect Employer: Jestico & Whiles

Architect Leader: Julia Park, Levitt Bernstein

Social impact: RCKa (Highly commended: Turner Works)

Architectural Client: London Borough of Sutton (nominated by Bell Phillips)

Winners showreel

>> Office S&M wins YAYA 2020

>> Julia Park named Architect Leader of the Year

AYA 2020 judging panel

Chaired by Thomas Lane, Assemble Media Group

Jamie Fobert, director, Jamie Fobert Architects

Mary Duggan, founder, Mary Duggan Architects

Phil Tait, head of development, British Land

Kay Hughes, design director, HS2 Ltd

Liz Smith, head of architecture, Purcell

Rab Bennetts, co-founder, Bennetts Associates

Julia Barfield, director, Marks Barfield Architects

Patrick Bellew, principal, Atelier Ten

Mary Bowman, partner, Gustafson Porter & Bowman

Colm Lacey, chief executive, Brick by Brick

David Rudlin, principal, Urbed

Elizabeth Hopkirk, assistant editor, Building Design