This year’s judges named by RIBA

David Adjaye

Source: Ed Reeve

David Adjaye

David Adjaye is to chair this year’s Stirling Prize jury, the RIBA has announced.

He will be joined by Alex de Rijke, architect of last year’s winning project, Hastings Pier.

Jude Kelly, the former artistic director of the Southbank Centre, and Kathrin Hersel, property director at Almacantar – which has just turned Centrepoint into flats – complete the panel along with RIBA president Ben Derbyshire.

Architect Simon Sturgis has been appointed sustainability advisor to the judges.

They will visit all six finalists before picking the winner.

Adjaye said: “This year’s shortlist demonstrates sensitive and engaged thinking across a wide range of projects – from cemeteries to nurseries and from galleries to workspaces. It is a privilege to be a judge for Britain’s highest prize for excellence in architecture and to celebrate the outstanding work of my peers.”

He was shortlisted for the prize himself in 2006 with his Whitechapel Ideas Store.

The winner will be announced on October 10 at the Roundhouse in London.

The Stirling Prize shortlist

* Bloomberg, London by Foster & Partners

* Bushey Cemetery, Hertfordshire by Waugh Thistleton Architects

* Chadwick Hall, University of Roehampton, London by Henley Halebrown

* New Tate St Ives, Cornwall by Jamie Fobert Architects with Evans & Shalev

* Storey’s Field Centre and Eddington Nursery, Cambridge by MUMA

* The Sultan Nazrin Shah Centre, Worcester College, Oxford by Niall McLaughlin Architects