Royal Academy honours Caruso St John


Stirling Prize-winners Adam Caruso and Peter St John together become ‘an academician’ as a partnership

The founders of Caruso St John Architects have been jointly elected as Royal Academicians for architecture, following in the footsteps of David Chipperfield, Richard Rogers, Norman Foster, Farshid Moussavi, Louisa Hutton and Nicholas Grimshaw, among others.

Adam Caruso and Peter St John, whose practice won the Stirling Prize in 2016 for the Newport Street Gallery designed for Damien Hirst, were elected to the Royal Academy as single entity, representing their practice. They will be inducted at a ceremony next week.

The Royal Academy has a strict rule that there must only be 80 academicians at any time, of whom at least 12 must be architects. A rule change in 2016 allowed a collaboration of two or more architects to be elected as “an academician”.

This content is available to Registered users

You are not currently logged in.

LOGIN or REGISTER to access this story

LOGIN or REGISTER for free access on selected stories and sign up for email alerts.

Take out a subscription to BD and you will get immediate access to:

  • Up to the minute architecture news from around the UK
  • Reviews of the latest buildings from all corners of the world
  • Our monthly digital edition including stunning photos, building and technical studies
  • Full access to all our online archives
  • PLUS you will receive a print copy of WA100 when it is published in January

Get access to premium content subscribe today