Finalists will fight it out for AYA glory


Building Design has today announced the shortlists for its 2020 Architect of the Year Awards.

Hundreds of entries have been whittled down to the finalists shown below. They include big names such as Alison Brooks – shortlisted in two categories; housing and individual house architect – plus Morris & Company, Grimshaw, Populous and BDP.

The finalists also include smaller but highly respected architects such as Dow Jones, Moxon and Bell Phillips as well as emerging practices.

The Young Architect of the Year Award (YAYA) – whose previous winners have gone on to great things – will this year be contested by Al Jawad Pike, Beasley Dickson, Bradley Van Der Straeten, Bureau de Change, DROO, KLA, Office S&M and Spratley & Partners.

The finalists were announced during a whole day of action on the Building Design website which also included three panel discussions with leading practitioners on social value, how to capitalise on an AYA win - and how to survive a recession.

Thomas Lane, chair of the judging panel, said this year’s new Social Impact Award had attracted a lot of interest from practices following Building Design’s Designing Social Value campaign which was launched last year in recognition of the growing importance of this area.

Alongside trophies for work in all the main sectors, there are also awards for the best employer, client and architectural leader.

”The quality of submissions was first-rate,” said Lane. “We were pleased to see entries from a good mix of well-established practices and some AYA newcomers. It’s been fantastic to see people who haven’t entered before putting through some exceptional work.”

The Architect of the Year Awards, run by Building Design, are the only awards that reward architects for a consistent body of work rather than one-off projects.

The judging panel this year includes Annalie Riches, founding director of Mikhail Riches, Julia Barfield, director of Marks Barfield Architects, Patrick Bellew, principal at Atelier Ten, Rab Bennetts, founder of Bennetts Associates, Mary Bowman, partner at Gustafson Porter & Bowman, Kay Hughes, design director at HS2 Ltd, Colm Lacey, chief executive of Brick by Brick, David Rudland, principal at Urbed and Building Design’s urbanism columnist, Liz Smith, head of architecture at Purcell, and Phil Tait, head of development at British Land.

>> From last year: Jamie Fobert: ‘Our AYA win feels like a new beginning’

The 2020 AYA shortlists


Young Architect of the Year (YAYA)

Al-Jawad Pike

Beasley Dickson

Bradley Van Der Straeten

Bureau de Change



Office S&M

Spratley & Partners


Housing Architect of the Year

Alison Brooks Architects

Conran and Partners

Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios


Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands

Morris & Company

Simpson Haugh



Retail and Leisure Architect of the Year

David Morley Architects

Faulkner Browns

JM Architects

Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands

Maccreanor Lavington



Woods Bagot


Refurbishment Architect of the Year


Broadway Malyan

Buckley Gray Yeoman

John Robertson Architects

Levitt Bernstein

MICA Architects

Spratley & Partners

Squire & Partners


Individual House Architect of the Year

Alison Brooks Architects


Annabelle Tugby Architects

Fletcher Crane Architects

Marek Wojciechowski Architects

McGonigle McGrath

McLean Quinlan

Selencky Parsons


Architectural Leader of the Year

Jude Barber, Collective Architecture

Jo-Anne Cowen, Jo Cowen Architects

Simone de Gale, Simone de Gale Architects

Christopher Lee, Populous

Kirsten Lees, Grimshaw

Sally Lewis, Stitch

Julia Park, Levitt Bernstein

Shevaughn Rieck, Farrells


Education Architect of the Year (Nursery – 6th form)


Child Graddon Lewis

Cottrell & Vermeulen


Levitt Bernstein

NVB Architects

Penoyre & Prasad

Scott Brownrigg


Higher Education Architect of the Year



Bond Bryan

Cottrell & Vermeulen

Faulkner Browns

Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios


Penoyre & Prasad


Infrastructure Architect of the Year

Arup Architecture

Landolt & Brown

Useful Studio


Interior Architect of the Year


David Kohn Architects


Gregory Phillips Architects

Proctor & Shaw

ID:SR Sheppard Robson

Soda Studio

TP Bennett


Sustainability Architect of the Year


Bennetts Associates



Small Project Architect of the Year

Bradley Van Der Straeten

Fletcher Crane Architects

Gibson Thornley Architects

Mizzi Studio

Pad Studio

William Green Architects


Office Architect of the Year


Bennetts Associates

Buckley Gray Yeoman

Fletcher Priest Architects

Gibson Thornley

Moxon Architects

Sheppard Robson



Public Building Architect of the Year

Bell Phillips

Bennetts Associates

Chris Dyson

Dow Jones

Glenn Howells


Hoskins Architects

Pilbrow & Partners


Public Realm Architect of the Year




Churchman Thornhill Finch




We Made That


Best Architect Employer of the Year

Assael Architecture




Jestico & Whiles

Matt Architecture

MSMR Architects

TP Bennett


Social Impact Award


HTA Design


Mikhail Riches

Pollard Thomas Edwards


Squire & Partners

Turner Works


Architectural Client of the Year

Hartlepool Borough Council

London Borough of Sutton

Maggie’s Centres