A round-up of how key MPs performed in the election

After last night’s landslide victory for the Conservatives, Boris Johnson’s party now holds a 79-seat majority, securing 364 MPs.

Labour lost 59 seats while the Liberal Democrats won just 11. The SNP made gains, winning 48 seats. 

But how did the MPs and candidates connected to the construction sector fare? Here, we look at the vital statistics. 

Johnson is set to announce an initial ministerial reshuffle on Monday, although he is not expected to make wholesale changes. He is due to outline his legislative plans in a Queen’s speech on Thursday.

Robert Jenrick

Secretary of state for housing, communities and local government

Robert Jenrick

Constituency: Newark

Majority: 21,816

Vote share change: +0.6

Esther McVey

Minister of state for housing and planning

Esther McVey at Tory Party conference 2019

Constituency: Tatton

Majority: 17,387

Vote share change: -0.8

Jake Berry

Minister of state for the Northern Powerhouse and local growth

S216 jake berry 960 with grey background

Constituency: Rossendale and Darwen

Majority: 9,522

Vote share change: +5.6

Helen Hayes

Labour backbencher who used to work for Allies & Morrison and said to be only planner in Parliament

Helen Hayes

Constituency: Dulwich and West Norwood

Majority: 27,310

Vote share change: -4.2

Grant Shapps

Secretary of state for transport

Grant Shapps

Constituency: Welwyn Hatfield

Majority: 10,955

Vote share change: +1.6

Nadhim Zahawi

Construction and infrastructure minister (BEIS)

Nadhim Zahawi

Constituency: Stratford-on-Avon

Majority: 19,972

Vote share change: -2.3

Paul Maynard

Department for Transport junior minister. Responsible for Crossrail; Heathrow Expansion; Northern Powerhouse Rail; East West Rail


Constituency: Blackpool North and Cleveleys

Majority: 8,596

Vote share change: +8.2

John Healey

Shadow housing secretary and former housing minister under Gordon Brown

John Healey BW 2019

Constituency: Wentworth and Dearne

Majority: 2,165

Vote share change: -24.7

Emma Dent Coad

Former MP responsible for Grenfell Tower area and architectural historian

Emma Dent Coad

Constituency: Kensington

Lost her majority: -150

Vote share change: -4.3

Clive Betts


Labour MP and former chair of the Housing, Communities and Local Government Committee

Constituency: Sheffield South East

Majority: 4,289

Vote share change: -12.4

Helen Whately

1024px-Official_portrait_of_Helen_Whately_MP crop_2_Creative Commons

Source: Chris McAndrew / Creative Commons

Former minister for arts, heritage and tourism – with her boss, responsible for listings

Constituency: Faversham & Mid Kent

Majority: 21,976

Vote share change: +2.1