Architects have five days to enter BD’s annual awards

AYA winners 2018

Last year’s AYA winners

Entries for this year’s Architect of the Year Awards close on Friday 1 February


The AYAs are BD’s annual celebration of the very best work being produced by practices today.

There are 18 categories this year including the Schueco Gold Award for the best of the best, picked from the winners of the other categories (see below).

New for 2019 is Female Architect Leader of the Year which has been introduced to recognise the achievements of women working in architecture.

Also new for 2019 is Best Architect Employer of the Year. This award rewards architectural practices that promote a high-quality work environment for their employees.

BD editor Thomas Lane said: ’We have introduced two new awards this year to recognise the huge contribution women make to architecture and a good employer award to reward those who are striving to create a high quality environment for their employees. 

We have retained all the existing categories which cover everything from individual houses up to large infrastructure projects. There is something for everyone and I would strongly encourage everyone to enter. I’m looking forward to going through the entries which represent the best the profession has to offer.”

The event will be held on May 1 at Westminster Park Plaza Hotel, London.

To enter visit:

2019 BD Architect of the Year Awards categories

Small Project Architect of the Year

Individual House Architect of the Year

Education Architect of the Year (nursery to 6th-form)

Education Architect of the Year (higher education)

Housing Architect of the Year

Interior Architect of the Year

Public Realm Architect of the Year

Public Building Architect of the Year

Infrastructure Architect of the Year

Retail & Leisure Architect of the Year

Sustainability Architect of the Year

Office Architect of the Year

Refurbishment Architect of the Year

Architectural Client of the Year Award

Schueco Gold Award - Architect of the Year 

Young Architect of the Year Award

Female Architect Leader of the Year

Best Architect Employer of the Year