Holl, Libeskind, Diller Scofidio & Renfro, UNStudio, John Ronan and O’Donnell & Tuomey showcase ideas for €48m fray

University College Dublin has released images of the six visions for its architectural future created by the shortlisted teams in its €48m competition.

In April the college announced that its judging panel – which includes David Adjaye – had whittled down 98 entries to a shortlist of six: Diller Scofidio & Renfro; John Ronan Architects; O’Donnell & Tuomey; Steven Holl Architects; Studio Libeskind; and UNStudio.

Now it is showcasing each of the finalists’ proposals for core elements of the brief – which include creating an urban design vision for the a new entrance precinct for the 24ha campus and creating a concept for an 8,000sq m Centre for Creative Design.

Competition organiser Malcolm Reading said the university – which counts James Joyce and a succession of architects and designers among its former students – had demonstrated a commitment to design excellence and its receptiveness to talent, ingenuity and imagination in commissioning the competition.

“As universities increasingly compete across national boundaries to attract gifted students and researchers, the range of facilities and the quality of experience they provide become ever more important,” he said.

“Through this competition, UCD has expressed an ambitious vision for the future and moved closer to achieving it.”

University president and chair of the judging panel for the design competition Andrew Deeks said unveiling the shortlisted proposals was an “exciting, energising moment” for the institution.

“We now have six possible futures for our campus centre-stage, and all from acclaimed international teams, who are creating the most interesting and iconic architecture today,” he said.

“We are seeking comments on the design proposals from the UCD community and their feedback will be of interest to the jury, who face the absorbing task of analysing the schemes and interviewing the teams.”

Each of the finalist teams have been allocated honoraria of €40,000 towards the development of their proposals. A winner is expected to be announced later in the summer.

Shortlisted teams in full

:: Diller Scofidio & Renfro with Sasaki, Scott Tallon Walker Architects, Gross.Max., Atelier Ten, Arup, IN2 Engineering Design Partnership, Michael Slattery Associates, i3PT and Linesight

:: John Ronan Architects with RKD Architects, CLUAA, BSM Landscape, Michael Boucher Landscape Architecture, Arup, Transsolar and Pritchard Themis

:: O’Donnell & Tuomey with Allies and Morrison, Arup, Hargreaves Associates, Superposition, Plattenbau Studio, Phil Jones Associates, Max Fordham and MLM Group, Dermot Foley Landscape Architects and Horganlynch

:: Steven Holl Architects with Kavanagh Tuite Architects, Brightspot Strategy, Arup, HarrisonStevens and Transsolar

:: Studio Libeskind with BDP, !melk, NRB and Dcon, Arup, Brock McClure Consultants, O’Herlihy Access Consultancy, JGA and i3PT

:: UNStudio with MOLA Architecture, Arup, REDscape Landscape & Urbanism, fwdesign, Maurice Johnson & Partners and i3PT