De Matos Ryan and Gagarin Studio with DP Squared complete four-strong winners’ list

Heatherwick Studio’s Maggie’s Centre in Leeds is one of four projects to have been named as winners of a 2022 RIBA Yorkshire Award.

The cancer care centre is among three schemes in the city to have scooped gongs, with the list revealed today also including Sheppard Robson’s Carnegie School of Sport and Leeds Footbridge by Gagarin Studio and DP Squared.

The Alice Hawthorn in North Yorkshire by De Matos Ryan completes the list of winners, with the practice also being handed two special awards for the project: the RIBA Yorkshire Client of the Year and RIBA Yorkshire Sustainability Award.

Heatherwick Studio_Maggies Leeds_©Hufton+Crow_017

Source: Hufton & Crow

Heatherwick Studio’s Maggie’s cancer care centre in Leeds

Sheppard Robson’s Alex Robson has also been named RIBA Yorkshire Project Architect of the Year  for his work on the Carnegie School of Sport.

Regional jury chair Adam Clark said: “The variety of the award-winning buildings this year - from typology to scale demonstrate the skill and sensitivity of RIBA architects. 

Carnegie School of Sport, Leeds_credit Andrew Heptinstall

Sheppard Robson’s Carnegie School of Sport

“Careful and appropriate use of materials alongside crisp detailing particularly stand out - reflecting the increasing need to provide the highest quality sustainable buildings for our towns, cities and villages. 

“Once again, the RIBA Awards programme showcases the vitally important role that architects play in enhancing and protecting our environment whilst lifting our spirits in challenging times.”

Leeds Footbridge

Gagarin Studio and DP Squared’s Leeds Footbridge

The 2022 RIBA Yorkshire Building of the Year will be announced at a ceremony at RIBA’s London HQ on 24 May.

Award winners will be up for a RIBA National Award in June, with the shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize for building of the year drawn from the National Award-winning schemes later this year.

Alice Hawthorn

De Matos Ryan’s The Alice Hawthorn