John Assael, Martin Knight and Patrick Lynch among hopefuls vying for seats on institute’s governing body

The RIBA has unveiled the list of candidates seeking election to its 60-seat governing council ahead of the start of voting next week.

The runners-and-riders for national seats include Assael director John Assael, Knight Architects director Martin Knight, and Lynch Architects founder Patrick Lynch.

Three candidates are seeking the single RIBA Council seat for the Americas, and two candidates each are seeking the Asia and Australasia and Middle East and Africa seats.

Perhaps reflecting the UK’s decision to leave the European Union, no candidates are standing for the RIBA Council “international” seat covering Europe.

The council passes down detailed responsibility to the RIBA Board and main committees. It meets four times a year and is ultimately responsible for the conduct and development of the institute and is chaired by the RIBA president – currently Jane Duncan.

Chartered members are voted in for a three-year term, with elections held on a rotational basis – meaning roughly one-third of the full complement of seats will be up for grabs in the forthcoming contest.

RIBA said voting in the poll would open on 15 June and remain open until 26 July.

The full list of candidates is below.

RIBA Council elections 2017: List of candidates

Unopposed candidates

Andrew Bourne – RIBA Wessex

Anthony Lloyd – RIBA West Midlands

Graham Devine – RIBA South West

John Wilde – RIBA South West

Kerr Robertson – RIAS South

Nick Mills – RIBA Wessex

Selasi Setufe – Associate


Vice president membership

Albena Atanassova

Michael Goode

Valeria Passetti

A ballot will be held amongst the Chairs of the English Regions and the Presidents of the RSUA, RIAS and RSAW.

National (six seats, 22 candidates)

Christopher John Mitchell

Christopher Nasah

Craig Allen

Daniel Leon

David Howarth

Dmitry Ivanoff

Dona Hasanaj

Flora Samuel

Gillian Peskett

Ibrahim Buhari

Jason Bill

John Assael

Martin Knight

Patrick Lynch

Peter Kellow

Phil Cooper

Philip Graham

Rosemarie Andrews

Sherman Chiu Shing Tang

Simone de Gale

Timothy Onyenobi

Yemi Aladerun

RIBA London (eight seats, 10 candidates)

Alia Beyg Javed

Chris Hampson

Debbie Flevotomou

Indy Johar

Lanre Gbolade

Michael Martin

Rahim Rahemtulla

Shahriar Nasser

Stephanie Edwards

Wendy Charlton

International Americas (one seat, three candidates)

Catherine Davis

Deborah Bentley

Lira Luis

International Asia and Australasia (one seat, two candidates)

Goh Chong Chia

Roger Tsan-Sum Wu

International Middle East and Africa (one seat, two candidates)

Alice Asafu-Adjaye

Jonathan Ashmore

Student (one seat, three candidates)

Abdulbari Kutbi

Abigail Patel

Jordan Saul Bizzell

Vacant seats

International Europe (one seat)

RIBA West Midlands (one seat)