Grimshaw’s Elizabeth Line and Wilkinson Eyre’s Battersea Power Station among longlist for this year’s Stirling Prize

Elizabeth Line RIBA 1

Grimshaw’s Elizabeth Line

RIBA has unveiled the longlist for this year’s Stirling Prize by naming the 26 winners of its 2024 National Awards.

Winners of the awards for the UK’s best new buildings including the Elizabeth Line by Grimsahw, Wilkinson Eyre’s Battersea Power Station and the King’s Cross masterplan by Allies and Morrison and Porphyrios Associates.

A broad variety of projects have picked up the prize with locations spanning across the UK and scales stretching from major infrastructure schemes to a house nestled in the Cornish countryside.

1 Shrewsbury Flaxmill Maltings_Daniel Hopkinson_ORIGINAL_3

Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios’ Flaxmill Maltings

Common themes among the winners include restoration and adaptation, particularly seen in Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios refurbishment of the grade I-listed Flaxmill Maltings, and 18th century mill in Shrewsbury, into a leisure and visitor space.

Other recognised restoration schemes include Niall McLaughlin and Purcell’s Auckland Tower, Castle and Faith museum, and Bradbury Works by [Y/N] Studio in London.

The Temple by James Gorst Architects © Rory Gardiner_10

James Gorst’s New Temple Complex

Careful use of materials and modern methods of construction to maximise sustainability was also praised by RIBA’s judges in projects including James Gorst’s timber-framed New Temple Complex and Feilden Fowles’ Homerton College Dining Hall.

RIBA president Muyiwa Oki said: “The sheer breadth of work is quite astounding, with large infrastructure schemes sitting alongside high-quality detailed smaller projects. 

“This is a testament to the standard of architecture in the UK right now, as we maintain a sense of ambition and consider how design must evolve to meet future needs.”

All 26 projects were visited by the expert jury. The shortlist for the Stirling Prize, the top award for architecture in the UK, is selected from the winners of the RIBA National Awards.

Battersea Power Station Phase Two_Peter Landers_ORIGINAL_1

Source: Peter Landers

Wilkinson Eyre’s Battersea Power Station

The full list of winners:

  • Dining Hall, Homerton College, Cambridge, Feilden Fowles Architects
  • Beechwood Village, Pollard Thomas Edwards
  • WongAvery Gallery, Níall McLaughlin Architects
  • Alfreton Park Community Special School, Curl la Tourelle Head Architecture
  • The Arbour, Boehm Lynas and GS8
  • The Elizabeth Line, Grimshaw, Maynard, Equation, Atkins
  • The Black & White Building, Waugh Thistleton Architects
  • Chowdhury Walk, Al-Jawad Pike
  • King’s Cross Masterplan, Allies and Morrison and Porphyrios Associates
  • Bradbury Works, [Y/N] Studio
  • Six Columns, 31/44 Architects
  • Royal Academy of Dance, Takero Shimazaki Architects
  • Battersea Power Station Phase Two, WilkinsonEyre
  • Thames Christian School & Battersea Chapel, Henley Halebrown
  • Paddington Elizabeth Line Station, Weston Williamson + Partners
  • National Portrait Gallery, Jamie Fobert Architects and Purcell
  • Auckland Castle, Tower and Faith Museum, Níall McLaughlin Architects & Purcell
  • New Temple Complex, James Gorst Architects
  • Farmworker’s House, Hugh Strange Architects
  • Bath Abbey Footprint Project, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Wraxall Yard, Clementine Blakemore Architects
  • Shrewsbury Flaxmill Maltings, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Park Hill Phase 2, Mikhail Riches
  • House on Redbrae Farm, McGonigle McGrath Architects
  • North Gate Social Housing, Page\Park Architects
  • The Fruitmarket Gallery, Reiach and Hall Architects