Saturday19 August 2017

Rem Koolhaas wins 2012 Jencks Award

  • Email
  • Comments (4)
  • Save

Honour comes in same year as architect’s Stirling shortlist double

Rem Koolhaas has won the 2012 Jencks Award.

The annual honour is presented to an individual or practice that has recently made a major contribution internationally to both the theory and practice of architecture.

Rem Koolhaas at OMA's Progress exhibition at the Barbican

Source: Miguel Santa Clara

Rem Koolhaas

The award will be presented to Koolhaas at the RIBA on November 20, when he will give a public lecture chaired by Charles Jencks.

The RIBA said: “Through his research and experimentation as well as his built projects and literature, Rem Koolhaas consciously works to deepen and expand the intrinsic connection between architecture and contemporary culture.”

Koolhaas has previously won the RIBA Royal Gold Medal, the Pritzker Prize and the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the 2010 Venice Biennale.

His built works include the Seattle Public Library and the Central China Television headquarters in Beijing.

His Maggie’s Centre in Glasgow and the new Rothschilds Bank in London are both on this year’s Stirling Prize shortlist.

Charles Jencks said: “Rem Koolhaas, more than any other architect of his generation, has built a parallel life between the theory and practice of architecture.”

Previous recipients of the Jencks Award include Zaha Hadid, Foreign Office Architects, Peter Eisenman, Cecil Balmond and Steven Holl.


Readers' comments (4)

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

sign in register
  • Email
  • Comments (4)
  • Save
Sign in

Email Newsletters

Sign out to login as another user

Desktop Site | Mobile Site