Tuesday22 August 2017

Eduardo Souto de Moura wins the 2011 Pritzker Prize

  • Email
  • Comments (15)
  • Save

Portuguese architect Eduardo Souto de Moura has been named winner of the 2011 Pritzker Prize, one of architecture’s most prestigious honours.

He will receive a $100,000 grant and a bronze medallion at a ceremony in Washington DC this June.

The 58-year-old architect, who worked in the office of 1992’s Pritzker winner, Alvaro Siza, for many years, has completed more than 60 projects, most of them in Portugal.

They include a 2004 football stadium in Braga, Portugal, and the Burgo Tower and a cultural centre, both in Porto. The jury also praised several of his houses.

Pritzker Prize jury chairman Peter Palumbo said: “During the past three decades, Eduardo Souto de Moura has produced a body of work that is of our time but also carries echoes of architectural traditions. His buildings have a unique ability to convey seemingly conflicting characteristics — power and modesty, bravado and subtlety, bold public authority and a sense of intimacy — at the same time.

“He has the confidence to use stone that is a thousand years old or to take inspiration from a modern detail by Mies van der Rohe.”

Souto de Moura said: “When I received the phone call telling me I was to be the Pritzker Laureate, I could hardly believe it. Then I received confirmation that it was actually true, and I came to realise what a great honor this is. The fact that this is the second time a Portuguese architect has been chosen makes it even more important.”

The purpose of the prize, which was founded in 1979 by the late Jay A Pritzker and his wife Cindy, is “to honour a living architect whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture”.

Souto de Moura, who works in Porto, Portugal’s second-largest city, follows in a distinguished line of laureates including Peter Zumthor, Oscar Niemeyer, Zaha Hadid and last year’s winners, Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa of Japanese firm Sanaa.



Readers' comments (15)

  • He is just not good enough for this award.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • David Harbord

    I am often astounded by the comments made on Readers' Comments. Maybe many members of the profession should stop mouthing off and start producing some decent work rather than kicking S..T !
    David Harbord.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • I cannot think on anyone better for this award, although I never imagined the jury would have the courage to do it, as lately only stars receive the prize. I am very happy for him and portuguese architecture, at present one of the best in the world. Grande maestro!

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • It is great, Viva Eduardo! I think it is great.This is not only a great architect, but a decent human being.
    Francesco Garofalo

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • by the way, Ian, who would you suggest for the prize? we are running out of architects to deserve this award!

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Ronan Bolaños

    Souto de Moura, an excellent laurate. As for other options for the award, I can think of many that may receive it in the future: John Pawson, RCR, Toyo Ito, Bernard Tschumi, Diller Scofidio+ Renfro, Legorreta + Legorreta, Snohetta, Wolf Prix, Helmut Jahn, Kengo Kuma, Juan Herreros, Daniel Libeskind, David Chipperfield, Lacaton & Vassal... Some might be rising stars while others have passed their best moments, anyway I'm pretty sure most of them have been shortlisted for the prize by now.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Dear Ronan, I appreciate your list, but hey! it is a real mixed bag.
    Helmuth Jahn has done buildings that look outright scary... Tschumi and Libeskind could not design their way out of a paper bag. It is better to stick to the Souto de Moura sort...
    Francesco Garofalo

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Munter Roe

    Not the best piccy of the man.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • not pawson and his sort!! too fashionable...almost like interior design, pure appearance. I should say RCR are better but not as to win the Prizker. About herreros, well he is no doubt remarkable in my country, but not sure how known he is outside. Chipperfield will deserve it, but not yet. Somehow there are many, but all of them seem like silver medal winners...by the way, if libeskind wins I will definitelly lose respect for this prize

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • JuiceMajor

    Never Heard Of Him

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

View results 10 per page | 20 per page

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

sign in register
  • Email
  • Comments (15)
  • Save
Sign in

Email Newsletters

Sign out to login as another user

Desktop Site | Mobile Site