Ike Ijeh on the 2019 Stirling Prize shortlist

Ike ijeh serious

BD’s architecture critic on this year’s six contenders

As with every RIBA Stirling prize there are a few surprises and lots of predictable certainties. Of the latter category the first and foremost entry is that Richard Rogers under the current guise of Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners and previously the Richard Rogers Partnership, has now clocked up his tenth Stirling nomination for the Macallan Distillery and Visitor Centre in Moray. This now equals the record of that other Stirling stalwart Foster + Partners and between them, no other architect has received more Stirling nominations with David Chipperfield coming second with eight. Should Rogers win he will also join Foster as the only architect to have won the Stirling Prize three times.

Read more…

This is premium content. 

Only logged in subscribers have access to it.

Login or SUBSCRIBE to view this story

Gated access promo

Existing subscriber? LOGIN

A subscription to Building Design will provide:

  • Unlimited architecture news from around the UK
  • Reviews of the latest buildings from all corners of the world
  • Full access to all our online archives
  • PLUS you will receive a digital copy of WA100 worth over £45.

Subscribe now for unlimited access.

Alternatively REGISTER for free access on selected stories and sign up for email alerts