Tuesday01 September 2015

Shortlists announced for 2011 Architect of the Year Awards

  • Email
  • Comment
  • Save

Small practices take on architectural giants in the running for this year’s awards, which celebrate bodies of work across 13 categories.

This year – the eighth in which they have been running – the awards drew a record 168 entries.

The judging will be conducted in October by a jury of architects, clients and built environment experts.  They include Waheed Nazir, director of regeneration at Birmingham Council; Liz Peace, Chief Executive of the British Property Federation and Bridget Sawyers, Chief Executive of the Architecture Centre Network.

The Young Architect of the Year award will be assessed separately by a jury comprising architects Peter St John and John McAslan, the Victoria and Albert Museum’s Moira Gemmill and Julian Barwick of Development Securities. 

The winners will be announced on November 15th at an award ceremony held at the Brewery in the City of London.  Full details are available at http://awards.bdonline.co.uk/

The shortlists:

Education Architect of the Year (6th Form to University)

Stanton Williams


Jestico +Whiles



Hopkins Architects

John McAslan + Partners

MJP Architects

Education Architect of the Year (Nursery to Secondary)

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

John McAslan and Partners

Mitchell Taylor Workshop

Cottrell and Vermeulen Architects

Erect Architecture

Penoyre and Prasad

Sarah Wigglesworth Architects

Hotel Architect of the year

EPR Architects Ltd

Reardon Smith Architects

Jestico +Whiles

Environmental Excellence Award


Arup Associates

Sheppard Robson

Housing Architect of the Year


Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Karakusevic Carson Architects

Maccreanor Lavington

Interior Architect of the Year

David Archer Architects

De Matos Ryan


Pringle Brandon


Masterplanning Architect of the Year

Rick Mather Architects

East, architecture, landscape, urban design

Studio Egret West Ltd

ADAM Architecture

Glenn Howells

Office Architect of the Year

Squire and Partners

Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Kohn Pedersen Fox

Fletcher Priest Architects

One off House Architect

Adam Richards Architects

Eldridge Smerrin Architects

Duggan Morris Architects

De Matos Ryan

Featherstone Young

Public Building Architect of the Year

Henley Halebrown Rorrison

Denton Corker Marshall


Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Pringle Richards Sharratt

Public Realms Architect of the Year

Muf architecture/art


East architecture, landscape, urban design

Townshend landscape Architects


Refurbishment Architect of the Year

Malcolm Fraser

Project Orange

Buckley Gray Yeoman

Van Heyningen and Haward

Bennetts Associates

Sports Architect of the Year

Faulkner Brown Architects



KSS Design Group

Hopkins Architects


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

sign in register
  • Email
  • Comment
  • Save
Sign in

Email Newsletters

Sign out to login as another user

I'm searching for in
Desktop Site | Mobile Site