Tuesday22 August 2017

Reiach and Hall named Architect of the Year

  • Email
  • Comment
  • Save

Comedian Marcus Brigstocke presents Britain’s best architects with their awards

Reiach and Hall Architects has been crowned BD’s Architect of the Year.

AYA logo 2017

The architect was presented with the prestigious Schueco Gold Award by comedian Marcus Brigstocke at the annual awards ceremony at the ExCel centre last night.

The Edinburgh practice, which also won the Higher Education category of Education Architect, won the prize for a series of buildings that, according to the judging panel, “show both creativity and flexibility”.

The firm is enjoying something of a purple patch, making the Stirling Prize shortlist for the second year running in 2016 and winning a string of awards, most notably for its £228 million City of Glasgow College project.

AYA winner 2017

Reiach and Hall receiving the Schueco Gold Award

Its work for the college, designed in a joint venture with Michael Laird Architects, formed the lion’s share of its successful entry in the Higher Education category, and is among 50 projects in the practice’s growing education sector portfolio. Its entry also included the Oriam sports centre completed last year at Heriot Watt University.

BD editor Thomas Lane said: “Reiach and Hall is a deserving winner. Their broad range of work includes the City of Glasgow College riverside campus, a huge scheme with a strong civic presence that has revitalised the deprived Clyde riverside and the Oriam at Herriot Watt, a simple sports centre with a roof elevated to an art form. Reiach and Hall’s confident handling of this diverse range of work is exemplary.”


AYA shortlists 2017

Oriam, Heriot Watt University, Edinburgh, Reiach&Hall Architects

Other winners included Argent as client of the year, Adjaye Associates for public building architect of the year, Metropolitan Workshop for masterplanning and public realm architect and Knight Architects for infrastructure architect of the year.

This year’s Young Architect of the Year winner was Hampshire practice Ayre Chamberlain Gaunt following in the footsteps of a string of YAYA winners who have gone on to flourish, including Lynch Architects and Arquitecturia who are working on the Olympicopolis project with Allies & Morrison and O’Donnell & Tuomey.

Lane said that housing, education and individual house were particularly fiercely contested categories. “We were impressed by the high quality and extraordinary diversity of entries. This quality combined with the record number of entries meant the judging panel had to make some very tough decisions.”

Judges this year included Wilkinson Eyre director Jim Eyre, Cottrell & Vermeulen director Richard Cottrell, Mike Shaw, head of design at Mace, Andy von Bradsky, non executive director of PRP, Esther Kurland, director of Urban Design London, Matthew Wells, director of Techniker, Nick Rogers, UK design director for Taylor Wimpey and Julian Robinson, director of estates at the LSE.


The full list of winners

Schueco Gold Award

Winner: Reiach and Hall Architects


Young Architect of the Year Award

Winner: Ayre Chamberlain Gaunt


Refurbishment Architect of the Year

Winner: 3DReid


Sports and Leisure Architect of the Year

Winner: FaulknerBrowns Architects


Housing Architect of the Year

Winner: Pollard Thomas Edwards


Individual House Architect of the Year

Winner: James Gorst Architects


Small Project Architect of the Year

Winner: Carl Turner Architects


Education Architect of the Year (nursery to 6th form)

Winner: Sarah Wigglesworth Architects


Education Architect (Higher Education)

Winner: Reiach and Hall Architects


Infrastructure Architect of the Year

Winner: Knight Architects


Interior Architect of the Year

Winner: Cousins & Cousins Architects


Sustainability Architect of the Year

Winner: Prewett Bizley Architects


Masterplanning and Public Realm Architect of the Year

Winner: Metropolitan Workshop


Office Architect of the Year

Winner: Fletcher Priest Architects


Public Building Architect of the Year

Winner: Adjaye Associates


Architectural Client of the Year Award

Winner: Argent

See all the AYA shortlists here



Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

sign in register
  • Email
  • Comment
  • Save
Sign in

Email Newsletters

Sign out to login as another user

Desktop Site | Mobile Site