Thursday31 July 2014

Eric Owen Moss to receive 2011 Jencks Award

  • Email
  • Comment
  • Save

American architect’s international contribution recognised

American architect Eric Owen Moss will receive the 2011 Jencks Award, an annual accolade recognising major international contributions to the theory and practice of architecture.

The award will be presented on December 6 at the RIBA where Moss will give a public lecture, chaired by Charles Jencks, after whom the award is named.

Moss started Eric Owen Moss Architects in 1973 in Los Angeles, USA and has since become involved in lectures, exhibitions, publishing and teaching around the world. His publications include Who Says What Architecture Is?, Eric Owen Moss: The Uncertainly of doing and Architecture + Design LA.

Recent projects include two office towers and a multi-theatre performance centre in Los Angeles, a hotel and office complex in West Hollywood, a 120,000sq m mixed-use project in Kazakhstan, and a masterplan for an ecologically integrated city in La Paz, Bolivia.

Previous recipients of the Jencks Award include Zaha Hadid, Foreign Office Architects, Peter Eisenman, Cecil Balmond, UNStudio, Wolf D. Prix & Coop Himmelb(l)au, Charles Correa and Steven Holl.


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

sign in register
  • Email
  • Comment
  • Save
Sign in

Email Newsletters

Sign out to login as another user

I'm searching for in
Desktop Site | Mobile Site