Saturday19 August 2017

AYA judging panel announced

  • Email
  • Comment
  • Save

Eight strong group includes Steve Tompkins, Sadie Morgan and Alison Brooks

The judging panel for BD’s Architect of the Year Awards has been announced with Steve Tompkins, Alison Brooks and Sadie Morgan all part of the eight-strong team.

Tompkins’ practice Haworth Tompkins picked up 2014’s Gold award – the top prize at the event – having landed the Stirling Prize earlier that year.

Sadie Morgan, who helped set up dRMM, is in charge of the design review panel on HS2 and is a member of the National Infrastructure Commission while Brooks’ award-winning practice is working on a number of high-profile housing schemes including the £1 billion North West Cambridge development.

Also on the panel is the chief architect at Croydon council Chloe Phelps while Haringey council’s head of planning Stephen Kelly is on there too.

Patrick Bellew from engineer Atelier Ten, former HOK director Andrew Barraclough, now group design director at contractor Wates, and the former managing director of Crest Nicholson’s regeneration arm, Debbie Aplin, round out the panel members.

Stephen Fry has been confirmed as the host of next month’s AYAs.

The actor and writer will present awards to all the night’s winning architects after giving an after-dinner talk.

Fry has also been announced as special guest at this year’s Ecobuild conference. He will be interviewed by broadcaster Will Gompertz on the same day, Wednesday March 9, which has been designated architecture day at the annual trade show and conference.

Both events – Ecobuild and the Architect of the Year Awards – are being held in the same venue for the first time, the ExCel in east London. Ecobuild runs March 8-10.

Tickets for the AYAs are available here.



Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

sign in register
  • Email
  • Comment
  • Save
Sign in

Email Newsletters

Sign out to login as another user

Desktop Site | Mobile Site