Friday18 August 2017

Architect of the Year Awards 2012 shortlist announced

  • Email
  • Comments (6)
  • Save

Rogers Stirk Harbour, Stanton Williams and Adam Khan on shortlist

Rogers Stirk Harbour, Stanton Williams and Adam Khan are among the practices shortlisted for BD’s ninth annual Architect of the Year awards. 

Including new categories such as International Breakthrough and Small Project, this year’s awards have been the most heavily subscribed in their history. 


Graham Stirk, Richard Rogers and Ivan Harbour of RSHP

Among practices shortlisted for the first time are FAT, in the housing category; Hall McKnight in the public building category; and Mitchell Taylor Workshop in the education category.  

The awards – the UK’s only architectural prize offered in recognition of a body of work - will be judged by a panel of architects, developers and other built environment professionals and presented at a ceremony to be held at the Brewery, in the City of London on December 4th. 

To learn more about the awards and to book your table, visit www.bdonline.co.uk/awards

Environmental Excellence Award, sponsored by American Hardwood Export Council

  • +3 Architecture
  • Aedas Architects
  • Architype Ltd
  • Civic Architects
  • Pascall+Watson architects
  • Pringle Brandon Perkins+Will

Housing Architect of the Year, sponsored by Duravit

  • Alison Brooks Architects Ltd
  • Duggan Morris Architects
  • FAT
  • Glenn Howells Architects
  • Maccreanor Lavington
  • Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners

International Breakthrough Architect of the Year

  • DRDH Architects
  • Groundlab
  • Hugh Broughton Architects
  • Mangera Yvars Architects
  • Sergison Bates architects LLP
  • Serie Architects

Office Architect of the Year, sponsored by Armstrong

  • Allies and Morrison
  • EPR Architects
  • ORMS Architecture Design
  • Project Orange
  • Reiach and Hall Architects
  • Squire and Partners

Public Building Architect of the Year

  • Adam Khan Architects
  • CZWG Architects LLP
  • Hall McKnight
  • John McAslan + Partners
  • Keith Williams Architects
  • Studio Egret West

Public Realm Architect of the Year

  • Adams & Sutherland
  • East Architecture, landscape, urban design
  • LDA Design
  • Studio Egret West
  • What if: projects
  • Witherford Watson Mann Architects

Masterplanning Architect of the Year

  • 5th Studio
  • Allies and Morrison
  • Karakusevic Carson Architects
  • Maccreanor Lavington
  • Peter Barber Architects
  • Studio Egret West

Education Architect of the Year (Nursery to Secondary), sponsored by Butler & Young

  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • Architype Ltd
  • Jestico + Whiles
  • Mitchell Taylor Workshop
  • ORMS Architecture Design
  • Sheppard Robson

Education Architect of the Year (6th form to University), sponsored by Johnstone’s Trade

  • Duggan Morris Architects
  • Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Glenn Howells Architects
  • Levitt Bernstein Associates Ltd
  • Reiach and Hall Architects
  • Wilkinson Eyre Architects

Small Project Architect of the Year

  • Ashton Porter Architects
  • Carl Turner Architects
  • Coffey Architects Ltd
  • Featherstone Young
  • Paul Archer Design
  • Simon Conder Associates

Refurbishment Architect of the Year, sponsored by Marley Eternit

  • Allies and Morrison
  • David Kohn Architects
  • Donald Insall Associates
  • Hawkins\Brown
  • Witherford Watson Mann Architects
  • ZMMA

Sports & Entertainment Architect of the Year, sponsored by Promap

  • Allies and Morrison
  • David Morley Architects
  • FaulknerBrowns Architects
  • KSS Design Group
  • Pringle Richards Sharratt Architects
  • Stanton Williams

Interior Architect of the Year, sponsored by Amtico International

  • BuckeyGrayYeoman
  • Dexter Moren Associates
  • Jestico + Whiles
  • Stiff + Trevillion
  • Universal Design Studio
  • Witherford Watson Mann Architects         

The jury for the Architect of the Year awards comprises:

  • Cany Ash, Ash Sakula Architects
  • Rab Bennetts, Bennetts Associates
  • Alan Berman, Berman Guedes Stretton Architects + Designers
  • Jim Chapman, Manchester School of Architecture
  • Martyn Evans, Cathedral Group PLC
  • Julie Greer, Greer Pritchard Planning Consultancy
  • Julian Harrap, Julian Harrap Architects
  • Tom Holbrook, 5th Studio
  • Steve King, Lend Lease
  • Lucy Musgrave, Publica
  • Barbara Weiss, Barbara Weiss Architects
  • Kate Goodwin, Royal Academy
  • Jeremy Melvin, Royal Academy


Readers' comments (6)

  • Same old same old - do you see banker of the year, lawyer of the year, surveyor of the year, Doctor of the year, No. If architects really want to be taken seriously then drop this self congratulatory celebrity nonsense

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • http://events.thelawyer.com/awards/categories.shtml



    etc etc...

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • urbansurgery

    Good work Tim Rodber, but really that's a tip of an iceberg - most every industry has its own recognition of excellence and in multiples.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • As usual the jury contains no enlightened public sector clients , or even members of the public who might be the actual users of the products of some of these nominees. Ah well.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • SomeoneStoleMyNick

    Yes - what a strange jury. It seems concocted to ensure that someone of the Prince Charles persuasion will be shortlisted.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Ellis Woodman

    @sscepticalaboutthewholething Who on the jury do you think represents "the Prince Charles persuasion"? I'm struggling to see a single one.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

sign in register
  • Email
  • Comments (6)
  • Save
Sign in

Email Newsletters

Sign out to login as another user

Desktop Site | Mobile Site