The Five Modes of Nagara Temple Architecture: Adam Hardy - April 17

The lecture will illustrate the five principal types or modes of Nagara (north Indian) temple architecture: Valabhi, Phamsana, Latina, Shekhari and Bhumija. Adam Hardy will discuss their architectural principles, their respective origins, evolution, and means of expression, and their interrelationships.

This is premium content

Only logged in subscribers have access to it.

Login or Subscribe to view this story

Existing subscriber? LOGIN or

Subscribe for unlimited access to:

  • Up to the minute architecture news from around the UK
  • Reviews of the latest buildings from all corners of the world
  • Our monthly digital edition including stunning photos, building and technical studies
  • Full access to all our online archives
  • PLUS you will receive a print copy of WA100 when it is published in January

Alternatively REGISTER for free access on selected stories and sign up for email alerts