Friday18 August 2017

Libeskind judges £30,000 Chinese shopping centre contest

  • Email
  • Comments (1)
  • Save

Cash prizes for architects and students in open design concept competition

Daniel Libeskind is chairing the jury on an international design competition to find new shopping centre concepts.

The “Commerce changes cities” contest has cash prizes totalling £30,000 and is open to both architects and students.

It is being bankrolled by Chinese developer Dalian Wanda, the firm behind KPF’s £700 million One Nine Elms towers in London (pictured).

The judges, who also include Benedetta Tagliabue of EMBT and David Malott of KPF, will be looking for ideas that update the shopping mall typology in response to changing commercial and demographic trends. Proposals should locate shopping, entertainment, leisure and other activities on one site.

Submissions will be accepted in any format, including drawings, models, films or choreographies. Teams can include architects and planners but also other disciplines such as philosophers, artists and economists.

First prize is £10,000 and “opportunities to participate in the follow-up project design”. There are two second prizes of £5,000 and three third prizes of £3,000.

The other organisations behind the competition are the Architecture and Culture Society of China, China Building Centre and the college of architecture and urban planning at Shanghai’s Tongji University.

The deadline for free registration and submission is March 10. Winners will be announced in April. More details: http://mallconcept.uedmagazine.net/

The juries

For the professional competition, jury members include:

•           Jury chairman: Daniel Libeskind, founder and principal architect of Studio Libeskind

•           Benedetta Tagliabue, founding member of Enric Miralles - Benedetta Tagliabue/EMBT

•           David Malott, Principal of KPF/chairman of CTBUH (Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat)

•           Lai Jianyan, vice president and chief architect of Wanda Commercial Property

•           Zhu Xiaodi, chairman and chief architect of Beijing Institute of Architectural Design

•           Special consultant: Anthony LaMolinara, Director, writer, novelist, painter and sculptor/ the best effects director of the 77th Oscar Award

For the student competition, jury members include:

•           Jury Chairman: Inaki Abalos, founding member of Abalos Sentkiewicz, chair of Department of Architecture, Harvard University

•           René-Henri Arnaud, associate of the AS.Architecture-Studio

•           Will Hosikian, principal of Woods Bagot

•           Li Zhenyu, dean of the College of Architecture and Urban Planning, Tongji University

•           Peng Lixiao, chairman of China Building Centre, chief editor of Urban Environment Design (UED) Magazine; guest professor of the School of Architecture, Tianjin University



Readers' comments (1)

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

sign in register
  • Email
  • Comments (1)
  • Save
Sign in

Email Newsletters

Sign out to login as another user

Desktop Site | Mobile Site