Thursday24 August 2017

Stirling Prize needs new remit

  • Email
  • Comments (1)
  • Save

The strangest part of the RIBA Awards is that the EU is included in the Stirling Prize rather than the Lubetkin Prize.

Stanton Williams' Sainsbury Laboratory in Cambridge has won the 2012 Stirling Prize.

Source: Jonty Wilde

The Stanton Williams team celebrates its Stirling Prize win.

The change to differentiate between international fellows and UK chartered architects only serves to blur the boundaries further (Leader October 19).

Since its remit is for the “greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year”, I think the Stirling Prize should be for a building in the UK by an RIBA member, which would mean that all of this year’s shortlist would be eligible but previous winners, such as Stuttgart Music School, Maxxi, Barajas Airport, and the Museum of Modern Literature in Marbach, would not.

Instead they would have been eligible for the Lubetkin Prize, which should be awarded for a building outside the UK by an RIBA member. It seems entirely arbitrary that you can win the Stirling Prize for a building in Germany but not for one in Canada.

Thomas Corrie
via bdonline


Readers' comments (1)

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

sign in register
  • Email
  • Comments (1)
  • Save
Sign in

Email Newsletters

Sign out to login as another user

Desktop Site | Mobile Site